simplicity in the complexity of it all

Life is not as not as complicated as we make it out to be.

I read these words on a kind soul’s caption of a photo of her father on instagram. She captured a simple, sweet moment with her dad and compared the simplicity of this moment to life.

And I think she’s right,

Perhaps life isn’t as complicated as we make it seem. Perhaps life is all about the simple things. Perhaps it’s about walks to class on a beautiful day, with the sun shining and everyone smiling. Perhaps it’s about the smiles exchanged with the barista at the coffee shop, or the joyous greeting when you run into a friend. Perhaps it’s about the quiet, simple moments spent with your closest friends, with laptops and homework in front of you, and laughter around you. Perhaps it’s the great cup of coffee you got for $1. Perhaps it’s the handmade christmas mug you clutch in your cold hands on a brisk fall day. Perhaps it’s the simple moments we take for granted and let pass by all too quickly;

It is easy to feel stuck. I feel that too often. I feel as though my life is going nowhere, but it is passing me by so fast. It’s hard for me to believe that I’m nearly halfway done with my second year of college. I feel as though I just began my freshman year. The thought of graduating often terrifies me, as I think of all the things I’ve yet to do before that. In just over two years, I might have a career ahead of me. I might be moving halfway across the world. I might return back home. I might be somewhere completely unexpected. There are endless possibilities in front of me, and I find myself anxiously awaiting for my future to unfold.

It seems complicated when I think about things in a completely future state of mind. There are so many things I have to do to get where I want to be. There are so many unknown obstacles I will have to climb. The variables are endless.

But when I take things with the present in mind, it is all so very simple. Life is simple. Going throughout my day is simple. Loving my friends and family and those around me is sweet and simple. Living life well is not as complicated as I so often tell myself. Enjoying every breath I’m given is simple.

So, here’s to the sweet and simple moments of life. Here’s to that perfect cup of coffee on a busy morning. Here’s to your favorite song coming on the radio. Here’s to falling in love, finding love, feeling in love, learning how to love – here’s to love. Here’s to the sunsets and the sunrises we’ve yet to see. Here’s to people who make you grateful that you’re alive and on this earth. Here’s to the moments that make you feel alive. Here’s to life, in all of its chaotic, beautiful, confusing, but simultaneously simple glory.

I hope you take life in. I don’t know what you are going through right now, or what you are dealing life. Life might feel the very opposite of simple for you right now. You might be in pain, you might be lost, you might be confused. I don’t know. But what I do know is that life has its simple, beautiful moments even when it doesn’t seem like it. So watch the sunset over the trees. Listen to songs that make you feel something. Read words that comfort you. Enjoy the simple moments as much as you can. Perhaps life will begin to feel a little less complicated.

Leave a Reply

