short north + superb friends

IMG_1289

To wrap up a long weekend break, my closest friends and I decided to make a day trip to a place I get to call home – Columbus!

Columbus might not be the city you think of as a happenin’ place, but it’s actually booming with cute shops, hipster eateries, modernistic coffee shops, and beautiful metro parks. It was a bit overcast and windy, but that didn’t dampen our spirits.

First stop: food + coffee!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

We headed to the North MarketΒ to get a late lunch. The North Market is one of my favorite places in Columbus, since there’s so much food and so many varieties in one place! It was actually not as busy as I was used to, since it was later in the afternoon. Rachel and I opted for Vietnamese food, Alex went with Italian, and Evan tried out the barbeque place. It was all amazing as usual.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Evan wanted to get some coffee beans, so we stopped at Stauf’s Coffee booth. I got my standard (iced chai) and Rachel got an iced mocha. I was thoroughly impressed with their chai, since I’m kind of picky.

Next, we headed to the Short North to walk around a bit, and check out all the shops and boutiques.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

One of my favorite things about the Short North is the abundance of vibrant and quirky murals.

The Short North is a great place to go shopping or to find a new Restaurant to try out. There’s so many places to discover, and so much to see! The shop keepers are all extremely friendly and so helpful.

After we walked up and down the streets of the Short North, we headed over to German Village to check out the book loft and some shops there. German Village (a historic village, settled by german immigrants in the mid 19th century) is adorable, and I absolutely fell in love with all the cute apartments and houses in the area! When you’re in German Village, it doesn’t feel like you’re in a big city at all. It’s a cute little community, tucked away from the bustling streets of Columbus. We checked out the Book Loft while we were there, which is a house made into a book store. There are 32 rooms PACKED with books. Seriously, it’s kind of overwhelming.

IMG_1303

I spent most of my time in the Literary classics and poetry section, awed by the vast collection of books. You have to visit, you won’t believe how many books they can pack into one place! The layout isΒ kind of confusing… they have a directory and maps to help out if you get lost.

After we spent way too much tim there, I got some macaroons from Pistacia Vera. YUM!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

All of that kept us pretty busy for the afternoon. It was so much fun to explore new spaces in a familiar face with my best friends. I’ve visited Columbus many times, but every time I return I feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface of all the cool places. Columbus has SO much to offer – from hockey games at the Nationwide Arena, to concerts at the LC Pavilion and the Basement, to yummy food in German Village, and art galleries in the Short North, there is so much to discover. Next time you’re itching for adventure, take a day trip to Columbus to see what you will find πŸ™‚

-Erin

Leave a Reply

