new year, new outfits.

The new year is all about new things and taking new risks and trying new things. The amount of trends going on this year is hard to keep track of, and some of them might feel a little extreme for you. I know I have a hard time trying new, daring trends and often don’t know how to style them or even where to start. So I’ve picked out three trends and styled three outfits for you to try this year.

Let 2017 be the year you make bold fashion choices and try out some new looks!

Trend: Faux Fur + Sequins

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 1.43.22 PM.png

 

Faux fur and sequins are nothing new, but they’re all the rage this winter. I myself am not into flashy outfits or drawing attention to myself, so the thought of wearing sequins or faux fur is a little scary for me! But for this outfit, I chose a dark color scheme and relied heavily on neutrals, adding a small pop of color in the clutch! The dark color scheme helps to subdue the faux fur and sequins a bit, and the neutrals help to bring attention to the statement piece: the faux fur jacket!

Jacket: chicwish.com
sequin top: tibi.com
jeans: boohoo.com
pumps: steve madden for macys.com
clutch: solesociety.com

Trend: Athletic Wear Anytime

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 2.01.37 PM.png

This is one trend that I have been more than willing to get on board with. I love a good, comfy sneaker and I definitely hopped onto the bandwagon when the adidas superstars started to gain popularity. I love my superstars because they go with anything and I can dress them up or down. I paired these superstars with black jeans and a black, lace up bodysuit. Bodysuits are comfortable and trendy, and you don’t have to worry about awkward bunches that come with tucking a normal shirt in. This outfit is a bit dark, so I brightened it up with a bubble gum pink bomber jacket and a rose-gold wallet. It’s the perfect amount of comfy, trendy, and badass.

Jeans: hm.com
bodysuit: thewebster.us
jacket: yoox.com
shoes: zappos.com
sunnies: ownthelooks.com
wallet: italist.com

Trend: Velvet, Velvet, Velvet!

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 2.15.35 PM.png

Another trend that I personally love is velvet! I just love the way velvet feels and how the texture looks. I love changing it up time to wear by wearing something I would normally wear, but in velvet. I think that it helps to class any outfit up, and it’s so easy to pair it with just about anything.

For this outfit, I picked a simple black, velvet slip-dress and styled everything else around it. I was going for a more formal look, so I choose some ultra cute floral booties and a sparkly handbag and earrings. Opaque tights pulls the outfit together, while also giving much needed warmth for the winter.

Slip dress: madewell.com
bodysuit: wearall.com
tights: jcrew.com
shoes: us.missselfridge.com
handbag: theoutnet.com
earrings: betsyjohnson.com

I hope these outfits give you a little inspiration into the New Year!

with love,
Erin ❤

ig: http://www.instagram.com/erin.esther

Leave a Reply

