My Most Anticipated Albums of 2017

2016 brought some amazing music into my life. From needtobreathe’s album HARD LOVE to the 1975’s i like it when you sleep to The Lumineer’s Cleopatra, it certainly was a good year for music.

But 2017 isn’t going to disappoint in music either, and there are already so much music that’s going to be released this year that I am so excited for. So I thought I’d share the top albums that I’m excited for this year.

  1. Colony House – Only The Lonely
    colony-house-at-rocking-gods-house
    Colony House is an up and coming three-piece band from Nashville that has taken the alt-rock scene by storm these last couple years. Two of the three members are sons of famous Christian singer-songwriter Steven Curtis Chapman. They’re incredibly gifted musicians and songwriters who not only have the experience as musicians, but also as performers. I’m seeing them in February for the fourth time, and I can’t wait to hear the new album as well.
  2. FLOR
    florfloralbandpic-600x400
    While they haven’t officially released a statement about a new album, they posted a series of photos on their instagram with the caption “1.6” that certainly hints to a new album or single. Flor is a small band from AZ that I first saw when they were on tour with COIN and Colony House in 2015. Their unique, heavy-synth sound instantly had me hooked. They haven’t released much music, so I hope that their Instagram is hinting to a new album.
  3. Lorde
    screen-shot-2015-02-24-at-8-29-04-am
    Lorde has been teasing her fans since mid 2016 about a new album, but she’s keeping things pretty secret so far. The 20 year old music icon hasn’t released a new album since 2013, so I am more than excited to hear some new music from her. She released an emotional statement on facebook about the new music:

    “I want nothing more than to spill my guts RIGHT NOW about the whole thing – I want you to see the album cover, pore over the lyrics (the best I’ve written in my life), touch the merch, experience the live show. I can hardly stop myself from typing out the name. I just need to keep working a while longer to make it as good as it can be. You’ll have to hold on. The big day is not tomorrow, or even next month realistically, but soon. I know you understand.” Lorde (via her facebook in November of last year)

  4. Bleachers
    99-og
    Another album that has yet to be confirmed, but is much anticipated. Bleachers hasn’t released any new music since their first album Strange Desire, which was released in 2014. Their song I Wanna Get Better was a summer anthem for me in 2015, and I am excited to see what they have in store.
  5. Ed Sheeran
    ed_sheeran
    It’s about damn time! Ed Sheeran released a video on twitter that teased new music and explained why the singer/songwriter has been laying low for a while. He implied that the new album would be coming in Fall’17, and that until then, he would be pretty quiet on his social media.
  6. Phoenix
    189_phoenix_mainimage
    Though it hasn’t been officially confirmed, Phoenix is expected to drop a new album sometime this year. Their most recent album, Bankrupt!, was released in 2013. I personally hope that they release the album before summer’17, because I need some new summer car ride jams.
  7. Mumford & Sons – Live From South Africa: Dust and Thunder (february 3rd!)dt_header_web
    While this isn’t necessarily new music, Mumford & Sons is releasing a film and live album both entitled Dust and Thunder. This film will include footage from the recording of the mini-album “Johannesburg” that Mumford and other bands wrote in a short period of time in South Africa. I’m personally excited to see their creativity in a new way, and can’t wait to hear the live album as well!
  8. COIN
    coin-band
    Another up-and-coming band Nashville, COIN hinted at a new album by posting a picture on facebook with the caption “2017”. COIN gained popularity by touring with Colony House in 2015-2016, and has established a strong presence in the indie-rock music genre. They’re going to be on tour in the spring of 2017, and I’m super excited to see them on their Cleveland date.
  9. last but not least…Taylor Swift
    swift
    There is no official statement or even a hint that there will be new TSwift this year…but we can only hope. Her last album, 1989, came out three years ago, so it would only make sense that she would have some new music out this year. But Taylor is full of surprises, so I guess we can only see what she will do this year. (Hopefully her beef with Kanye won’t effect anything…)

Overall, I am so excited for the new music that is set to be released this year. Do you have any albums you’re looking forward to in 2017?

Thanks for reading,

with love,
Erin<3
instagram.com/erin.esther

Leave a Reply

