the little black dress, reimagined.

The LBD is hands down one of the most important pieces to have in your closet. It can be dressed up for formal events and dressed down for casual, everyday wear. You can wear it with heels, boots, booties, or sneakers. You can wear it by itself or with a shirt under it or a jacket over it. The outfit combos are nearly endless, because everything goes with black.

Since the LBD is such an important closet staple, I thought I’d show you I would style a few different LBDs.

LBD #1: Sparkles and Sequins: for a formal event

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-4-13-14-pm

You can’t go wrong with a sparkly number for a formal occasion. This dress is less than $100 at H&M and I paired it with navy velvet heels and silver accessories. The faux fur stole gives some warmth to the outfit, as well as an instant formal vibe. Since the neckline is already so pretty and detailed, I skipped the necklace and just added a bracelet and earrings.

Dress: H&M
Heels: Nine West
Faux-Fur: Selfridges&CO
Clutch: Nordstrom
Bangle: Belk
Earrings: The Dressing Room

LBD #2: Pop Of Color: for the office

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 4.27.21 PM.png

For this outfit, I went with a conservative yet classy knee-length dress with a defined waist and wrap top. I personally love the navy + tan + black combo, so I kept things simple by pairing the LBD with a navy blazer and tan booties. The scarf gives the outfit a sophisticated vibe while the clutch adds a pop of color and some fun.

Dress: Vintage Fringe
Blazer: ModLi Co
Booties: Dorothy Perkins
Scarf: Handbag Tailor
Clutch: Betsy Johnson

LBD #3 Blacks and Pinks: athleisure
Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 4.35.50 PM.png

Athleisure, or the joining of athletic wear with leisure wear. Love it or hate it, this trend has taken the fashion world by storm. Celebrity after celebrity is seen pairing some adidas trainers with dresses or heels with sweatpants. I decided to pick this cute print t-shirt dress and add a bomber jacket (which is SO in this season) with some blush trainers. The accessories are handy and functional, with the hat and choker adding that “casual cool girl” vibe.

T-shirt dress: Boohoo
Bomber Jacket: Sans Souci
Sneakers: Adidas
Backpack: Vera Bradley
Hat: PopMap
Choker: Romwe

LBD #4 Grunge: for your inner rebel

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 4.45.35 PM.png

I have loved the 90s fashion revival lately, especially with the grunge style coming back. I actually have many variations of this outfit myself! Throwing a dark flannel over a black skater dress instantly adds grunge appeal, and you can’t go wrong with a pair of Doc Martens.

Dress: Hollister
Flannel: Madewell
Boots: Doc Martens
Beanie: Vans
Choker: RoseGal

LBD #5 Black Maxi: summer wear

Screen Shot 2017-01-02 at 3.09.52 PM.png

Yes, you can wear that LBD in warm weather too! A black maxi dress looks good on anyone, and this strappy one from Boohoo is no exception. I added these cutes tan sandals with a structured denim jacket to pull the look together, with some coordinating accessories.

Dress: Boohoo
Jacket: H&M
Hat: Kohls
Sandals: Nordstrom
Tote: Domino
Sunnies: Bloomingdales
Bangles: Nordstrom

LBD #6 Casual + Cool: my personal style

Screen Shot 2017-01-02 at 5.48.21 PM.png

This is my absolute favorite outfit, and it’s absolutely my style. I wear a lot of stripes and neutral colors, so I chose this cute jumper dress and put a simple striped under it. A trendy heeled bootie is always my shoe of choice, and I really love this red velvet pair. I added some tough girl accessories with a statement bangle and this cross-body purse with skeleton hand details. And I think the choker and print beanie add some more fun to the outfit.

Jumper dress: Dorothy Perkins
Top: J Crew
Booties: New Look
Beanie: Vera Bradley
Purse: Romwe
Bangle: Nordstrom
Choker: Miss Selfridge

What is your favorite way to style your LBD? Let me know in the comments!

With love,
Erin

instagram.com/erin.esther

Leave a Reply

